ستيفن طومسون

مقدمة لموتسارت والتنوير

يعتبر موتسارت أحد أعظم الملحنين في التاريخ ، وقد يقول الكثيرون أنهم أعظمهم. في حياته القصيرة ، قام بتأليف أكثر من 600 عمل ، ويعيش أسلوب حياة شرس ويتحدى الأعراف الاجتماعية.

انضم إلى Steven Thompson ، أستاذ الموسيقى في American River College ، لترى كيف تنسج مُثُل التنوير عبر موسيقى موزارت.

3 فبراير

7:30 مساءً - 8:30 مساءً

ARC Symphony Rehersal 2016-01-27 - 0407.JPG

السيرة الذاتية

حصل الدكتور ستيفن طومسون على درجة علمية في الموسيقى من جامعة ولاية ويتشيتا (ويتشيتا ، كانساس) في عام 1987 ثم التحق بجامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا ليحصل على درجة الماجستير في الموسيقى عام 1990 ودكتوراه في عام 1998.

يحاضر حاليًا في American River College في سكرامنتو. كما أنه يدير ARCO ، وهي أوركسترا كلية مجتمعية صلبة لا مثيل لها ومتعددة الأجيال. الصلصا والهيب هوب وبيتهوفن ومن يدري ماذا سيعيش. قام بتأليف كتب مدرسية ، ومقدمة لموسيقى العالم الغربي ، وموسيقى أساسية ، وألف القليل من الموسيقى لأصدقاء جيدين ، بما في ذلك التعاون للمنشآت في بكين ، الصين ؛ وكولونيا ، ألمانيا. طومسون هو مدير الموسيقى لشركة Napa Regional Dance وقائد الفرقة الموسيقية الضيف مع Symphony Napa Valley. لقد أجرى المزيد من إنتاجات كسارة البندق أكثر مما يستطيع المرء هز العصا التي يضرب بها المثل.

شغل طومسون مناصب أوركسترا مع فرقة لوس أنجلوس الكلاسيكية للباليه وأوركسترا كوستاريكا الوطنية وأوركسترا هيروشيما السيمفونية باليابان. نيو ويست ، سانتا مونيكا ، ويتشيتا ، والشباب الأمريكي. في أيام دراسته ، أمضى فصول الصيف المثالية حقًا في مهرجان باسيفيك للموسيقى في سابورو باليابان ؛ مهرجان آسبن للموسيقى في كولورادو ؛ ندوة جراند تيتون في جاكسون وايومنغ ؛ وأكاديمية الموسيقى الغربية في سانتا باربرا. يعتقد أن الموسيقيين هم أروع الناس ، وفي شمال كاليفورنيا يمكن العثور عليهم أحيانًا على خشبة المسرح ، أو ربما تحت المسرح ، بجانب أعضاء ساكرامنتو فيلهارمونيك ، والأوبرا ، والباليه ، وجمعية الكورال ، والموسيقى في الجبال ، وغيرها.

Music of Mexico (5).png

Steven Thompson

Introduction to Mozart and The Enlightenment

 

Mozart is considered to be one of the greatest composers in history, many would say the greatest. In his short life, he composed over 600 works, living a ferocious lifestyle and defying social norms.

Join Steven Thompson, Professor of Music at American River College, to see how Enlightenment ideals weave through Mozart's music.

February 3rd

7:30 pm — 8:30 pm

“Leck mich im Arsch!”

Amadeus: Fact or Fiction? 

In our second lecture, Thompson takes a look at the award-winning film Amadeus.  The film was nominated for 53 awards and received 40, including eight Academy Awards. It never claimed to be entirely biographical and Thompson walks us through it, differentiating fact from fiction. 

 

February 10th

7:30 pm — 8:30 pm

bio

Dr. Steven Thompson received a music degree from Wichita State University (Wichita, Kansas) in 1987 and then attended the University of Southern California getting his Masters of Music in 1990 and his  Doctorate in 1998. 

He currently lectures at American River College in Sacramento.  He also directs ARCO, a solid, like-no-other, multi-generational, community college orchestra. Salsa and Hip-hop and Beethoven and who knows what will live on. He has written textbooks, Introduction to Music of the Western World, and Basic Musicianship, and composed a bit of music for good friends, including a collaboration for installations in Beijing, China; and Cologne, Germany. Thompson is music director for the Napa Regional Dance company and a guest conductor with Symphony Napa Valley. He has conducted more productions of Nutcracker than one could shake the proverbial stick.

Thompson has held orchestral positions with the Los Angeles Classical Ballet, National Orchestra of Costa Rica, and the symphony orchestras of Hiroshima, Japan; New West, Santa Monica, Wichita, and American Youth. In his student days he spent truly idyllic summers at the Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo, Japan; Aspen Music Festival in Colorado; Grand Teton Seminar in Jackson Wyoming; and the Music Academy of the West in Santa Barbara. He believes musicians are most wonderful people, and in Northern California can at times be found on, or perhaps under the stage, next to members of the Sacramento Philharmonic, Opera, Ballet, Choral Society, Music in the Mountains, and others.